The BTU Golfing Society (1926)

Origins in the "Golfing Circle" of the Institution of Heating and Ventilating Engineers


Home News & Events Captains Page History BTU National Photos Membership

Welcome to the Official Website of “The BTU” Golfing Society (1926)

“The BTU” Golfing Society is a group of like-minded friends, colleagues and associates who enjoy playing golf, on quality courses, whilst endeavouring to maintain the traditions of classic golf. The Society is run by its members for the pleasure of its members.

Formed in 1926, the year that Bob Jones won his first Open Championship, the Society has its origins in the "Golfing Circle" of the Institution of Heating and Ventilating Engineers (IHVE). The Founding Members and first Committee were Sam Fox, Harry Merrin, Earl Maiden, Walter Nobbs, Charles Allensby, R.A. Ching, with George Rees as the Honorary Secretary.  Walter Nobbs was elected the first Captain for the 1927 season.

The Society hold 4 - 5 events each year where members play for historic silverware, played on golf courses that are considered to be some of the best in the Home Counties and Great Britain.

Guests are available to attend all events, with prizes available.

The Society also arrange overnight away-day events and every two years participates in The National BTU Championships, which are held at various prestige courses throughout the UK and Ireland, including Druids Glen in Ireland and Prestwick in Scotland.

The National is contested by all 14 regional branches, from England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. Last year the event was held at the excellent Oakdale Golf club in Harrogate, where we came 4th.

Our members golfing abilities vary between seasoned amateurs to enthusiastic club players, who all have a common bond to enjoy a day’s golf with a competitive edge.

For further information about the Society, please contact us

Copyright © 2017 BTU Golfing Society - All Rights Reserved

Powered by WordPress & Atahualpa